CN

2021 Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival
Regulations on Screening Session 

       I. About the Screening Session
       Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival screening session "Golden Kapok Screening" is dedicated to presenting outstanding documentaries to the public, promoting various cultures, cultivating documentary audiences, and promoting domestic and International documentaries in China. 

       II. Date of Event

The documentary festival is held in Guangzhou every December. 

2021 Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival will be held from December 6th to December 9th, 2021. 

Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival screening session "Golden Kapok Screening" will be held from December 4th to December 12th, 2021. 


        III. Eligibility for Golden Kapok Screening

1. The domestic participant's work must get a public screening permit, or a TV broadcast license/broadcast certificate, or Audio Video Service Permission. 

2. The length of the work should be 60-150 minutes, except for special films. 

3. Qualification Requirements for Premiere Screenings

(1) Worldwide Premiere - Films that have been internationally broadcast, screened at film festivals, are available online, or have been released via streaming, home video, or any other public platform are not eligible. 

(2) International Premiere – Films that have been broadcast, screened at film festivals, are available online, or have been released via streaming, home video, or any other public platform outside the production countries are not eligible. 

(3) Asia Premiere - Films that have been broadcast, screened at film festivals, are available online, or have been released via streaming, home video, or any other public platform in Asia are not eligible. 

(4) China Premiere - Films that have been broadcast, screened at film festivals, are available online, or have been released via streaming, home video, or any other public platform in China are not eligible. (This category is mainly for domestic work). 


        IV. Submission Guidance

 (i) Deadline 

The deadline for application is set according to different countries and regions. 

The Chinese applicants should complete the submission by September 20, 2020 (GMT+8). 

The International applicants shall complete the submission by September 10, 2020 (GMT+8). 

All applicants shall complete online signup and deliver materials by mails to the General Office of the Organizing Committee (OC) before the deadline. The application received after the deadline or the application with incomplete materials will not be accepted as qualified entries. 


 (ii) Application process and required materials 

1. Please register online at the official website www.gzdoc.cn, click "Competition&Screening-Golden Kapok Screening" to complete and submit the online Entry Form. 

2. Please upload the following materials: 

 (1) One poster in JPG format, pixel no less than 150 dpi; 

 (2) 1-3 Film stills in JPG format, pixel no less than 150 dpi; 

 (3) One director's photo in JPG format, pixel no less than 150 dpi; 

 (4) Non-Chinese dialogue films must submit a non-embedded full-length English subtitle file (SRT or ASS format) or English subtitle script (word file or txt file).

 (5) The Chinese applicant shall provide a scanned copy of the public screening permit, or a scanned copy of the TV broadcast permit/broadcast certificate, or a scanned copy of audio-video service permission/certificate, etc. The scanned copy of these permits listed above are required. If needed, the original copy might be required. 


3. Please submit the following video material:

 (1) The preview version

Requirement: 

①Film in MP4 / MOV format, 1080P and above; data Rate: 2000kbps to 5000kbps; 

②For Chinese dialogue films, complete Chinese and English subtitles are required. For NON-MANDARINE dialogues (including English) films, full-length English subtitles are required. 

③To add a watermark, please mark “GZDOC Preview” in the upper right corner. (transparency of mark is not higher than 50%). Any other watermarks should not be applied, in a bid to ensure the viewing effects. 

 (2) Trailer 

Requirement: 

①Motion Pictures with a running time of fewer than 3 minutes, in MP4 / MOV format, 1080P and above, data rate 2000kbps to 5000kbps 

②Chinese dialogue films shall have complete Chinese and English subtitles. For NON-MANDARINE dialogues (including English) films, English subtitles are required.

 (3) Please submit your video materials in one of the following methods:

①Mailing 

Please mail the copies of the film’s preview version and trailer in CD/USB / Mobile Hard Disk along with the film’s title and contact information to: 

Address: Room 3303, Fu Li Ying Long Square, No.76, West Huangpu Avenue, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, Guangdong Province, China.

Contacts: Ms. Zhong Bositing 

Tel: 86-020-38780150-806 

②Internet transmission 

Upload the film’s preview version and trailer into Cloud Storage (such as Vimeo or Google Drive) and fill in the download link and password into the registration page on the official website (www.gzdoc.cn/EvaluationCharter/index.aspx) in the " "Screener-Online Screener" column. Please mark the film title and contact information. 


(iii) Registration fee 

    Free Entry


(iv) Notices for material delivery 

If you choose to post your materials, in order to ensure the materials delivered on time, please use the traceable and signature-required express delivery service. Please do not use the surface mail. 

If the materials are sent from overseas, please use the international express (such as DHL or FEDEX), indicated "no commercial value" and "for cultural use only" on the package, and fill in the customs declaration value less than 10 US dollars.  

No application materials will be returned. Do not send film prints, master tapes or other originals. The Organizing Committee will not pay for the delivery fee caused by the application and has the right to refuse the delivery unpaid.


 (v) The Use of Registration Information and Application Materials 

1. Please fill in entry form correctly and completely. The information in the form will be used and published in the preselection, evaluation and final announcement. If there is any information wrong or missing, the responsibility will be borne by the applicants. 

2. The signup account at the official website (www.gzdoc.cn) will be used as the contact for the applicant by default. The follow-up notification related to pre-selection and evaluation will be delivered to the contact first. Please keep the call and the mailbox accessible. 


3. The registration information and the application material will be presented on the official website, as well as online and offline media for publicity. The OC has the right to edit and publicly use the materials, including film entry information, posters, stills, trailers, and clips of no more than 5 minutes, on GZDOC’s official channels. 


 (vi) Update/Addition of registration information and application materials

1. If the applicant wants to update information or material after submission, please send an email to film@gzdoc.cn and explain the update in detail. After reviewed and approved by the OC, the update will be completed. 

2. If there are follow-up materials (such as posters, stills, promotional materials, awards, etc.), please send the materials to film@gzdoc.cn, with a detailed explanation. The Committee will decide whether to adopt and use the updated version according to the specific situation.

3. The films’ preview version must be the same as the final screening version. If the version needs to be replaced, the final screening version must be provided before the deadline.  


 (vii) Screening Rights 

1. At the submission (subject to the submission of the entry form), it is agreed that the OC may screen no more than 3 times for free during the GZDOC screening session. The screening schedule and venue will be decided by the OC. 

2. If the applicant wants to withdraw from the screening, he/she must inform the OC (specified E-mail: screen@gzdoc.cn) before the registration deadline(August 31, 2021). Withdrawal after the registration deadline will not be accepted. If for extremely special cases, applicants shall contact the OC by mail and negotiate the withdrawal in good faith. 


 (viii) Content Review and Modification 

The film will be reviewed by the OC. If there is any content needs to be modified, the applicant shall cooperate with the OC and conduct the modification accordingly. Otherwise, the application will become invalid automatically. 


 (ix) Copyright Statement 

Applicant (and applying company) shall own the copyrights or distribution rights of the film submitted by him/her; shall ensure that there is no dispute over copyright of the film; guarantee it has acquired the copyrights/authorizations from the copyright owners for the music, video, image and text contained and used in the films; ensure the original contents in the film do not violate the copyrights or legal rights of any other third parties. Any disputes, damages, or compensations arising out of or in relation to the copyright infringement of the film shall be borne by its applicant (and applying company). GZDOC reserves the right to disqualify any film with unauthorized copyrighted materials.


        V. Notice for Screening Selection

1. Confirmation of screening selection 

The applicant shall reply to the email and confirm whether to participate in the screening within two working days after receiving the notification (email) from the OC. Once the applicant confirms their participation in the screening, the applicant shall not withdraw for any reason.

2, The screening version 

After the film is selected for the screening, the official screening version must be submitted to the OC (please refer to the "Registration Guidance" for the technical requirements). Besides the technical adjustments such as mixing, grading, and subtitle translation, the screening version must be in consistent with the preview version. After the screening session is completed, the screening copy will be sent back by mail within two weeks to the address provided by the applicant or the copy owner.

        Format requirements for screening version:     

 (1) For Chinese domestic film and Mandarin film from Hong Kong, Macao, and Taiwan. 

DCP (recommended for this format) 

Coding: JPEG2000 Interop 

Data rate: 70-100Mbps (reference) 

Frame rate: 24FPS 

Resolution: 2560x1440 (2K) 

Effective picture aspect ratio: 1.85:1 or 2.39:1 (for reference) 

Color space: XYZ (G=2.6) Audio format: 5.1PCM 48KHZ 24Bit 

File package format: OV 

Mobile HDD preferred: high transfer rate 


MOV / MP4 / AVI (This is only available when there is no DCP.Please make sure the format available.) 

Coding: H.264 

Data rate: 10-50Mbps (reference) 

Frame rate: 24FPS 

Resolution: 1080P 

Aspect ratio: 16:9 or 1.85:1 or 2.39:1 (for reference) 

Audio bit rate: 1500kbps (for reference) 

Audio channel: 2 (stereo) 

Audio sampling frequency: 48KHZ 

Mobile HDD preferred: high transfer rate 

 (Single episode file size: around 10G, no watermark) 


 (2) International non-Mandarin films 

MOV / MP4 / AVI 

Coding: H.264 

Data rate: 10-50Mbps (reference interval) 

Frame rate: 24FPS 

Resolution: 1080P 

Aspect ratio: 16:9 or 1.85:1 or 2.39:1 (for reference) 

Audio bit rate: 1500kbps (for your reference) 

Audio channel: 2 (stereo) 

Audio sampling frequency: 48KHZ 

Mobile HDD preferred: high transfer rate 

 (Single episode file size: around 10G, no watermark) 


3. Use of Selected Films

Once the film is selected, the application information and material submitted online and offline will be presented on the documentary festival brochure, official website, or for online and offline media promotion events. 

The OC is entitled to edit and publicly use the materials, including film entry information, posters, stills, trailers, and clips of no more than 5 minutes and on GZDOC’s official channels. If there is still information or material missing, all materials must be submitted at the final selection stage. 


4. Premiere Screening Term

Once the film confirms entering the premiere screening, it’s agreed that the OC has the right to premiere the film during the documentary festival. Any third party shall not premiere the film or conduct any activity that will breach the premiere screening term between the film owner and the OC.  


5. Screening schedule 

All selected films will be publicly screened no more than 3 times from December 4 to December 12, 2021. The screening schedule and venue will be decided by the OC. 


6. Publicity requirements 

After the film is selected, the OC will provide the GZDOC Official Screening Selection logo. The film selected must include the GZDOC Official Screening Selection logo in all its subsequent promotional materials, and it's strictly forbidden to modify the logo. 

       

        VI. Statement

1. Any changes against the regulations will be posted on the "Competition&Screening-Golden Kapok Screening-Regulation" page of the official website (www.gzdoc.cn). The applicant can withdraw from the event if he/she thinks the modified clauses are unacceptable by notifying the OC within 10 working days after the announcement is posted. Otherwise, it will be deemed that the applicant accepts all the modified clauses. 

2. If there were any situations that are not specified above, the OC reserves all rights for the final explanation of the regulations. 

3. The applicant signing up for the screening session of the 2021 Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival should accept all the above terms and conditions. If there is any dispute, it shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the PRC.


                                                                                                                                         

General Office of the Organizing Committee of
Guangzhou International Documentary Film Festival

March 18, 2021




The Head of Screening and Cooperation Department 

Mr. Su Chen

Tel: 020-38780150-810 

E-mail: screen@gzdoc.cn

EN

2021中国(广州)国际纪录片节
金红棉展映单元章程

        一.关于展映单元
        中国(广州)国际纪录片节展映单元“金红棉影展”致力于向公众展示优秀纪录片作品,推动国际文化交流,推广普及纪录片文化,培育和扩大纪录片受众群体,促进国内外纪录片在中国的市场发展。

        二.展映举办日期
        纪录片节每年12月在广州举办。

        2021中国(广州)国际纪录片节将于2021年12月6日至12月9日举办。

        2021中国(广州)国际纪录片节展映单元“金红棉影展”将于2021年12月4日至12月12日举办。


        三.参展资格

        1、报名的中国境内影片须获得公映许可证、或电视播出许可证/播出证明、或网络视听节目备案号,并配合提供相关证明材料。

        2、报名展映影片总时长需在60-150分钟,特殊影片除外。

        3、首映影片参展资格

      (1)世界首映——报名影片未曾在任何电影节展展映或在电影院、电视、网络新媒体等方式面向公众进行放映、展播,具有首次公开放映权。

      (2)国际首映——报名影片只在制片国家放映、展播过,只参加过制片国家的国家性节展或者该国国际性节展的国内环节,未曾在制片国家以外的电影节展、公共场所公开放映过,具有国际首映权。

      (3)亚洲首映——报名影片未曾在亚洲境内电影节展或电影院、电视、网络新媒体等渠道公开放映过,具有亚洲首映权。

      (4)中国首映——报名影片未曾在中国境内电影节展、电影院、电视、网络新媒体等渠道公开放映过,具有中国首映权(该部分主要针对境内影片)。


        四.报名须知

      (一)报名时间

        2021年中国(广州)国际纪录片节展映单元影片报名时间为北京时间2021年5月13日00:00至8月31日24:00,报名影片需在截止日期前完成在线报名并按要求将所有相关报名材料寄送至组委会常务办公室。请自行估算邮寄所需时间,超期未抵达组委会常务办公室或报名材料不完整的影片将不被纳入选片流程。

      (二)报名步骤及所需材料

        1、请登录纪录片节官方网站(www.gzdoc.cn),在“评选·展映-金红棉展映”页面进行报名,完整填写并提交在线报名表。

        2、在线报名过程中将需要上传以下报名材料:

     (1)影片海报1-2张,要求:JPG格式,150 DPI以上,文件大小2-10M

     (2)影片剧照1-3张,要求:JPG格式,150 DPI以上,文件大小1-10M

     (3)导演照片1张,要求:JPG格式,150 DPI以上,文件大小1-10M

     (4)非中文对白影片须提交非内嵌式全片英文字幕文件(SRT或ASS格式)或英文字幕文本(word文件或txt文件),中文对白或已配有中文字幕的影片无需提交。

     (5)中国境内影片需提供公映许可证书扫描件、或电视播出许可证/播出证明扫描件、或网络视听节目备案号/证书扫描件等相关证明材料,以上材料只须提供扫描件即可,必要时配合出示原件复印件。

        3、提交报名影片视频材料:

     (1)影片评审版本

       要求:

       ① MP4或MOV格式,尺寸1080P,码率2000kbps至5000kbps

       ② 中文对白影片须配有全片中英双语字幕,非中文对白影片(包括英语对白影片)须配有全片英文字幕或中文字幕。

       ③ 如需添加水印,请于右上角标注“GZDOC评审版”或“GZDOC Preview”,水印透明度不高于50%,此外画面内容不得有任何其他水印标记,以免影响评审预览效果。

     (2)影片预告片

       要求:

       ① MP4或MOV格式,片长3分钟以下,尺寸1080P,码率2000kbps至5000kbps

       ② 中文对白影片须配有全片中英双语字幕,非中文对白影片(包括英语对白影片)须配有全片英文字幕或中文字幕。

     (3)请选择以下其中一种方式提交视频材料:

       ① 寄送材料

       将影片评审版本、预告片拷贝到数据格式光盘、U盘或移动硬盘等储存介质内,寄送到组委会常务办公室(请标注影片名、联系人及联系电话):

       地址:广东省广州市天河区黄埔大道西76号富力盈隆广场3303房

       联系人:钟博思婷

       联系电话:020-38780150-806

       ② 在线链接

       请将影片评审版本、预告片上传至网盘(如:百度网盘),并将分享链接及密码填写至官网报名页面
    (www.gzdoc.cn/EvaluationCharter/index.aspx)“样片形式-在线链接”一栏(请标注影片名、联系人及联系电话)。

      (三)报名费用

        所有报名展映单元的影片,组委会常务办公室不收取报名费用。

      (四)材料寄送注意事项

        如选择寄送报名材料,为保证材料顺利准时抵达组委会常务办公室,请使用须签收、可追踪的寄送服务,请勿使用平邮。

        如从海外地区寄送,请使用国际快递服务(如DHL或FEDEX),在包裹上注明“无商业价值”及“仅供文化用途”,并填写10 美元以内的海关申报价值。所有报名材料将不会被退还,组委会不承担报名造成的运费,并有权拒收到付包裹。

      (五)关于报名信息及材料的使用

        1、请正确、完整填写报名表单,所填写信息将在入围、评审、结果公布等工作环节及相关的信息公开中采用,如有信息错漏,责任由报名方承担。

        2、在官方网站(www.gzdoc.cn)报名影片时使用的用户注册账号将默认作为该报名影片的报名联系人,后续与该影片相关的评选、入围情况将优先告知该联系人,请保持联系电话、邮箱畅通。

        3、影片报名后,其线上报名表、寄送报名材料中涉及的报名信息及报名材料,将可能呈现于电影节官网、线上及线下媒体宣传中。组委会常务办公室有权对纪录片节官方途径呈现的影片信息、材料进行编辑及公开使用,包括影片报名信息、海报、剧照、预告片及影片正片中总长度不超过5分钟的片段。

      (六)报名信息、材料的更替及补充

        1、如报名完成后需进行报名信息或材料更替,请发送电子邮件至film@gzdoc.cn并以更改前后对照的方式详细说明更改需求,经组委会常务办公室审核同意后方可进行材料更替。

        2、如有影片后续报名材料(如海报、剧照、宣传资料包、获奖情况等)需补充,请发送材料至邮箱film@gzdoc.cn并加以说明,组委会将视具体情况决定是否采纳并使用。

        3、报名影片评审版须与最终放映版本一致,如需更换版本,需在材料截止日前提供最终放映版本。 

      (七)关于展映授权

        1、影片报名后(以填写提交报名表为准)即视为同意组委会在本届纪录片节展映活动期间可免费展映该片不超过3场,展映日期、时间、场地由组委会全权决定。

        2、报名展映的影片,如要退出展映,需在报名截止日期(2021年8月31日24:00)前以邮件的方式告知组委会(展映单元指定邮箱:screen@gzdoc.cn),展映报名截止日期之后不接受任何形式的退出,如有极其特殊的原因,须邮件与组委会协商。

      (八)关于内容审查及修改

        报名影片同意并配合组委会组织的影片内容审查工作,如有修改要求,同意配合组委会进行内容修改,否则视为自动退出展映。

      (九)版权信息

        影片报名方(及公司)须拥有其报名影片的著作权或全权代理权,同时保证该影片无版权纠纷,其中所采用的音乐及影片视频图像、创意文本等已获得版权,或取得该作品版权人授权使用,或为原创且未侵犯任何第三人的版权及其他民事权益。因影片版权引起的纠纷,由影片报名方(及公司)负责全部侵权责任及损失赔偿责任。


        五.展映入选影片须知

        1、入选确认

        影片报名方应在收到组委会发出的展映入选通知(电子邮件)后的两个工作日内回复电子邮件并确认授权展映。影片报名方一旦确认接受纪录片节邀请并参展,即不得以任何理由擅自撤回入围影片。

        2、展映版本

        影片入选展映后,须提交正式展映版本至组委会常务办公室(视频材料的提交方式请参考“报名须知”)。除后期混录、画面调色、字幕翻译等技术性调整以外,正式展映版本影片的剪辑须与评审版本影片一致。纪录片节展映活动结束后,将按影片报名方或拷贝出借人指定的地址,在两周以内将拷贝寄还。

        影片放映版本放映介质格式要求:    

      (1)中国境内影片、港澳台华语影片

        DCP(推荐此格式)

        编码:JPEG2000 Interop

        码率:70-100Mbps(参考区间)

        帧速率:24FPS

        分辨率:2560x1440(2K)

        有效画面长宽比:1.85:1或2.39:1(参考)

        颜色空间:XYZ(G=2.6) 音频格式:5.1PCM 48KHZ 24Bit 

        文件包格式:OV

        移动硬盘格式:高传输速率


        MOV / MP4 / AVI(仅限无影片DCP情况下提供此格式)

        编码:H.264

        码率:10-50Mbps(参考区间)

        帧速率:24FPS

        分辨率:1080P

        长宽比:16:9或1.85:1或2.39:1(参考)

        音频比特率:1500kbps(参考)

        音频频道:2(立体声)

        音频采样频率:48KHZ

        移动硬盘:高传输速率

     (单集文件大小控制在10G左右,无水印)

      (2)境外非华语影片

        MOV / MP4 / AVI

        编码:H.264

        码率:10-50Mbps(参考区间)

        帧速率:24FPS

        分辨率:1080P

        长宽比:16:9或1.85:1或2.39:1(参考)

        音频比特率:1500kbps(参考)

        音频频道:2(立体声)

        音频采样频率:48KHZ

        移动硬盘:高传输速率

     (单集文件大小控制在10G左右,无水印)

        3、入选影片信息、材料的使用

        影片入选后,其线上报名表及发送、寄送的报名材料中涉及的报名信息及报名材料,将呈现于电影节手册、官网、线上及线下媒体宣传中。

        组委会常务办公室有权对纪录片节官方途径呈现的影片信息、材料进行编辑及公开使用,包括影片信息、海报、剧照、预告片及影片正片中总长度不超过5分钟的片段。如报名阶段有任何信息或材料缺失,须在入选阶段补齐所有材料。

        4、首映状况

        符合首映资格的影片入选并确认参展后,即视为将该片首映权授予纪录片节组委会,影片不得再将同性质首映权授予第三方或擅自进行改变首映性质的放映活动。

        5、展映场次安排

        所有入选影片将在2021年12月4日至12月12日期间进行不超过3 场公开展映,展映排期及场地由组委会全权决定。

        6、宣传要求

        影片入选后,组委会将提供相应标识,影片须在后续所有宣传材料中呈现中国(广州)国际纪录片节“GZDOC入围标识”,标识严禁修改。


        六.声明

        1、本规则一旦发生变动,组委会将在官方网站(www.gzdoc.cn)的“评选·展映-金红棉展映”页面,以公告的形式告知规则修改的内容,影片报名方若不接受修改条款,有权退出此次活动。如果报名方在公告发出十个工作日后仍未通知组委会常务办公室放弃参评,则视同报名方接受所有变动。

        2、如有任何以上规则未能规定的情况,以组委会最终解释说明为准。

        3、影片报名参加2021中国(广州)国际纪录片节展映单元,即表示接受以上所有条款与规则,如有任何纠纷,中国司法机关有独立裁判权。


                                                                                                                                          中国(广州)国际纪录片节组委会常务办公室

                                                                                                                                                                                     2021年3月18日



        金红棉展映单元工作负责人及联系方式:

        展映合作部主管:苏尘 (先生)

        联系电话:020-38780150-810

        工作邮箱:screen@gzdoc.cn